Key data
| Regulation | Resolution of August 28, 2026, from the General Directorate of the Treasury and Financial Policy |
|---|---|
| Publication | August 31, 2026 |
| Entry into force / Auction date | September 3, 2026 |
| Admission to AIAF | September 8, 2026 |
| Affected parties | Institutional investors, Market Makers and savers interested in public debt |
| Category | Regulatory Changes — Public Debt |
| Year | 2026 |
| Yield range | 1.67% – 3.80% |
The Public Treasury puts four sovereign debt references on the market on September 3, 2026, with maturities ranging from 2029 to 2039. The Resolution of August 28, 2026 from the General Directorate of the Treasury and Financial Policy (BOE-A-2026-18360) formalizes the issuances and convenes the corresponding auctions. All issuances are increases of previous references and will be managed as a single issuance.
For institutional investors, corporate treasurers and financial advisors, this auction represents a concrete window to access Spanish sovereign debt across a well-defined range of maturities and yields. Below, all the data you need to decide.
What does this regulation establish?
The resolution convenes the auction of four specific references of Spanish public debt. All are increases of existing issuances, which guarantees liquidity in the secondary market from day one. The complete details of each reference are as follows:
| Instrument | Coupon | Maturity | Approximate residual life | Yield offered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| State Bond 3 years | 2.35% | March 2029 | ~2.5 years | Not specified individually* |
| State Bond 5 years | 2.60% | May 2031 | ~4.7 years | Not specified individually* |
| State Obligation | 3.30% | April 2036 | ~9.8 years | 3.80% |
| State Obligation indexed to inflation | 2.05% | November 2039 | ~13.2 years (15 years issuance) | 1.67% |
* The range 1.67%–3.80% covers all four references. The individual yields of the 3 and 5-year bonds will be determined in the competitive auction itself on September 3.
The key features of the auction mechanism are:
- Competitive auction: participants bid by indicating price and volume. The resulting marginal price determines the cut-off rate.
- Second round exclusive to Market Makers: after the ordinary auction, Market Makers can acquire additional securities at the resulting marginal price, without competition from other participants.
- Admission to AIAF: the securities will be tradable on the AIAF Fixed Income Market from September 8, 2026.
- Management as a single issuance: as increases of previous references, the new securities are fungible with those already in circulation, which improves secondary market liquidity.
Economic and operational impact
From the perspective of the institutional investor or corporate treasurer, this auction presents a clear map of yields for different time horizons:
| Horizon | Instrument | Nominal coupon | Reference yield | Inflation coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Short term (~2.5 years) | 3-year Bond | 2.35% | To be determined at auction | No |
| Medium term (~4.7 years) | 5-year Bond | 2.60% | To be determined at auction | No |
| Long term (~9.8 years) | 2036 Obligation | 3.30% | 3.80% | No |
| Very long term (~13 years) | 2039 Inflation-indexed Obligation | 2.05% | 1.67% real | Yes (indexed to inflation) |
The inflation-indexed obligation maturing in November 2039 is particularly relevant for pension funds, insurance companies and any entity with liabilities indexed to CPI: the real yield of 1.67% is complemented by the revaluation of principal linked to inflation, which provides coverage against persistent inflation scenarios.
The nominal obligation at ~9.8 years with a yield of 3.80% is the highest nominal yield reference in this auction, attractive for portfolios seeking to "lock-in" rates in the long end of the Spanish sovereign curve.
Who does it affect?
- Institutional investors (investment funds, pension funds, insurance companies, SICAVs): can participate directly in the auction or access the secondary market on AIAF from September 8.
- Market Makers in Spanish public debt: have exclusive access to second rounds at the marginal price resulting from each auction, allowing them to expand positions without additional competition.
- Corporate treasurers and CFOs of large companies managing liquidity surpluses over medium and long term.
- Financial advisors and wealth managers who build portfolios with sovereign fixed income assets for individual or institutional clients.
- Individual savers who can access these references through their financial institution or the AIAF secondary market once admitted on September 8.
- Financial entities that use sovereign debt as a high credit quality asset (HQLA) for regulatory liquidity management.
Practical example
A pension fund with an estimated liability in real terms at 13 years evaluates the inflation-indexed obligation at 2.05% maturing in November 2039 with a real yield of 1.67%.
If the fund invests 10 million euros in this reference, it will obtain:
- An annual nominal coupon of 2.05%, that is, €205,000 gross annually on the initial principal.
- Additionally, the principal is revalued with inflation: if CPI accumulates 2% annually during the life of the bond, the principal at maturity will have grown proportionally, protecting the purchasing power of the investment.
- The guaranteed real yield is 1.67%, regardless of inflation developments.
In contrast, an institutional investor who prefers maximum nominal yield and a ~10-year horizon will opt for the obligation at 3.30% maturing April 2036, which offers a yield of 3.80%: on 10 million euros, that equals €380,000 gross annually of effective yield at the reference cut-off rate.
In both cases, access to the secondary market on AIAF from September 8, 2026 guarantees liquidity if the investor needs to unwind the position before maturity.
What should investors do now?
- Confirm eligibility before September 3: verify if your entity has direct access to the Treasury auction or if you must operate through an authorized Market Maker or intermediary.
- Analyze which reference fits your horizon and profile: the 3-year bond (2.35%) for short-term liquidity; the 5-year bond (2.60%) for medium term; the 3.30%/3.80% obligation for long-term nominal; the 2.05%/1.67% real inflation-indexed obligation for very long-term inflation coverage.
- If you are a Market Maker: plan your second round strategy at the resulting marginal price to expand positions without additional competitive pressure.
- If you do not participate in the primary auction: mark September 8, 2026 as the start date for trading on AIAF to access the references in the secondary market.
- Review tax treatment: yields from State bonds and obligations are taxed as capital income. Consult with your tax advisor the impact on your portfolio according to the applicable marginal rate.
- Document the transaction: as these are increases of previous references managed as a single issuance, verify the ISIN codes of each reference for correct accounting and regulatory reporting.
Frequently asked questions
When is the State bonds and obligations auction for September 2026?
The auction is convened for September 3, 2026. The resulting securities will be admitted for trading on the AIAF Fixed Income Market from September 8, 2026.
What yield do State obligations offer in the September 2026 auction?
The yield range ranges between 1.67% for the inflation-indexed obligation (maturity November 2039) and 3.80% for the nominal obligation at ~9.8 years (maturity April 2036). The 3-year bonds (2.35% coupon) and 5-year bonds (2.60% coupon) will set their yield in the competitive auction itself on September 3.
What advantage do Market Makers have in this auction?
Market Makers have exclusive access to the second rounds of each auction, at the marginal price resulting from the ordinary auction. This allows them to acquire additional volume of each reference without competition from other participants and without the need to bid in the main round.
What is the inflation-indexed obligation at 2.05% and for whom is it suitable?
It is a State obligation with a coupon of 2.05% and maturity in November 2039 (~15 years original maturity) whose principal is revalued with inflation. The guaranteed real yield is 1.67%. It is especially suitable for pension funds, insurance companies and entities with liabilities indexed to CPI that seek coverage against persistent inflation.
From when can these bonds be purchased in the secondary market?
The securities issued in the auction of September 3, 2026 will be admitted for trading on the AIAF Fixed Income Market from September 8, 2026. From that date, any investor can access these references through their financial institution or intermediary authorized on AIAF.
Official source
Consult complete regulation at official source
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or financial advice. For specific investment decisions, consult a qualified professional. Source: https://www.boe.es/diario_boe/txt.php?id=BOE-A-2026-18360