Key data
| Regulation | Order PJC/904/2026, of August 26 |
|---|---|
| Publication | August 29, 2026 (BOE) |
| Entry into force | Not specified in the regulation |
| Affected parties | Manufacturers and distributors of electrical and electronic equipment (EEE) |
| Modified regulation | Annex III of Royal Decree 219/2013, of March 22 (points 6 and 7) |
| Category | Business Regulation — Restrictions on hazardous substances (RoHS) |
| Year | 2026 |
| Origin | Transposition of three EU delegated directives of 2025 |
Manufacturers of electrical and electronic equipment that depend on lead in certain production processes have three more years of leeway: Order PJC/904/2026, published on August 29, 2026, expands and reorganizes exemptions for the use of lead under the RoHS directive. The regulation transposes three EU delegated directives of 2025 and modifies points 6 and 7 of Annex III of Royal Decree 219/2013.
The key for compliance and operations teams: the exemption is not generic. It is divided into specific subcategories, which requires reviewing which one each company application fits into.
What does this regulation establish?
Order PJC/904/2026 modifies Annex III of RD 219/2013, which regulates exemptions for the use of hazardous substances in EEE (RoHS directive). The changes affect two specific points:
Point 6 — High-melting-point solder pastes
Solders with more than 85% lead maintain the exemption, but are reorganized into seven subcategories. The reason: there are no reliable technical alternatives for all applications in the next three years. The division into subcategories allows for more specific evaluations per application in future technical reviews, rather than reviewing the exemption globally.
Point 7 — Lead in glass, ceramics and metal alloys
| Material | Change introduced | Applicable limit |
|---|---|---|
| Glass and ceramics | Exemptions are divided into separate entries to facilitate future independent technical reviews | No specific quantitative limit published |
| Recycled aluminum (alloy) | A maximum limit for lead as an alloying element is set | 0.3% by weight |
| Steel and copper (alloy) | Reorganization of sub-entries; extended timeframes | No change in quantitative limit published |
Comparison: before and after
| Aspect | Before (Original RD 219/2013) | After (Order PJC/904/2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Solders >85% lead | Single exemption in point 6 | Exemption divided into 7 subcategories |
| Glass and ceramics | Joint entry in point 7 | Separate entries by material |
| Recycled aluminum | No explicit quantitative limit published | 0.3% by weight limit |
| Administrative burdens | Existing ones | No additional burdens |
Economic and operational impact
The direct impact for most manufacturers is neutral in the short term: the regulation does not prohibit anything that was previously allowed nor does it add new fees or penalties. However, there are two operational effects that must be managed:
- Mandatory reclassification: Companies that previously relied on the generic exemption in point 6 must now identify which of the 7 subcategories their processes fit into. Without this reclassification, regulatory compliance is questionable in the event of an inspection.
- 0.3% limit on recycled aluminum: Companies using recycled aluminum with lead as an alloying element must verify that their suppliers comply with this threshold. If lead content exceeds 0.3% by weight, the material is no longer exempt and its use in EEE could constitute a RoHS violation.
- Three-year horizon: The exemption is maintained because there are no reliable technical alternatives today. But the three-year timeframe indicates that the EU expects alternatives to mature. Companies with greater dependence on lead in solders should already begin evaluating substitute technologies.
Who does it affect?
- Manufacturers of industrial and automotive electronic equipment using solders with more than 85% lead
- Manufacturers of glass or ceramic components for EEE (capacitors, resistors, sensors)
- Companies incorporating recycled aluminum as an alloying material in EEE components
- Manufacturers of EEE using steel or copper with lead as an alloying element
- Distributors of EEE who must guarantee RoHS compliance of the products they market
- Regulatory compliance officers and R&D teams of companies in the electronics sector
Practical example
A manufacturer of power modules for industrial electronics uses solder pastes with 90% lead in its high-temperature assembly processes. Until now, its RoHS exemption was based on the generic entry in point 6 of Annex III of RD 219/2013.
With Order PJC/904/2026, that manufacturer must:
- Identify which of the 7 new subcategories in point 6 its specific application fits into (for example, power modules for electric traction or high-reliability equipment).
- Update its technical documentation and RoHS declaration of conformity to reflect the specific subcategory, not the previous generic entry.
- If it also uses recycled aluminum in housings or heat sinks, verify with its suppliers that lead content does not exceed 0.3% by weight.
Without these steps, in the event of an audit or market inspection, the company may not properly demonstrate its exemption, even though it technically continues to meet the material requirements.
What should companies do now?
- Audit lead use in production processes: Identify which applications use solders with more than 85% lead and which subcategory of the new point 6 each one corresponds to.
- Verify lead content in recycled aluminum: Request from suppliers the technical sheet or composition certificate proving that lead does not exceed 0.3% by weight in the aluminum alloys used in EEE.
- Update RoHS compliance documentation: Review declarations of conformity, technical sheets and technical files to reflect the specific subcategories of the new Annex III, not the previous generic entries.
- Review glass and ceramic components: Check whether affected components are still covered by the new separate entries in point 7 and update regulatory references in the documentation.
- Plan technological transition: Given that the exemption period is approximately three years, begin evaluating lead-free alternatives for the most critical applications, especially in high-melting-point solders.
Frequently asked questions
What percentage of lead does the exemption allow in high-temperature solders?
The exemption applies to solder pastes with more than 85% lead by weight. This exemption is maintained in Order PJC/904/2026, but is now structured in seven specific subcategories by application, rather than a single generic entry.
What is the lead limit in recycled aluminum for EEE?
Order PJC/904/2026 sets a limit of 0.3% by weight of lead as an alloying element in recycled aluminum used in electrical and electronic equipment. Exceeding this threshold means the material is no longer exempt under the RoHS directive.
What regulation does Order PJC/904/2026 modify and what specific points does it change?
It modifies Annex III of Royal Decree 219/2013, of March 22, specifically points 6 (high-temperature solders) and 7 (lead in glass, ceramics and steel, aluminum and copper alloys). It is the transposition of three EU delegated directives of 2025.
How much time do companies have to adapt to the new subcategories?
The regulation does not specify a deferred entry into force date. However, it acknowledges that there are no reliable technical alternatives for all applications in the next three years, which marks the time horizon for the current exemptions. Documentary adaptation should be carried out immediately.
Are new administrative obligations added for EEE manufacturers?
No. Order PJC/904/2026 expressly establishes that no additional administrative burdens are imposed on companies in the sector. The impact is mainly documentary: updating the classification of exemptions in RoHS compliance documentation to reflect the new subcategories.
Official source
Consult complete regulation in official source
Notice: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. For specific decisions, consult a qualified professional. Source: https://www.boe.es/diario_boe/txt.php?id=BOE-A-2026-18281